Cadott Hornet Wrestling

The Cadott Wrestling program is known throughout the state for producing quality wrestling teams and is considered one of the top wrestling programs in division three. Our program is successful because of the efforts of the Cadott Wrestling Club, parents, coaches, and dedicated athletes and fans.

The Cadott Wrestling Club contributes to the success of the wrestling program by creating opportunities for all wrestlers no matter their skill level or age. The club started the wrestling program in the early 1960’s and is still very active in promoting the sport of wrestling today.

Our Wrestling program is also very successful because of the efforts and consistency of the coaches. We were fortunate to have been led by some of the finest coaches in the country. A. Pat Mrotek coached the hornets from 1964-1976. Ed Lenard coached the hornets from 1984- 2008. Both coaches have been inducted into the George Martin Wrestling Hall of Fame. Incidentally, both coaches also received the Lifetime Service of Wrestling award and are inducted in the National Wrestling Hall Fame. These two coaches have been instrumental in the success of the wrestling program and still are active members in the wrestling club today.

Current facts:

Head Coach: Josh Spaeth
Assistant Coaches: Jon Erickson
Volunteer Assistant Coaches:  Dan Yeager, Brad Sonnentag, Rod Tegels
Junior High Coaches: Shawn Spaeth, Pat Rothbauer

Cadott has been represented at the Team State Tournament five times:

1999-2000 - Team State Qualifier
2000-2001 - Division Three Team State Champions
2001-2002 - Team State Qualifiers
2004-2005 - Division Three Team State Runner-up
2006-2007 - Division Three Team State Champions

Cadott has been represented by 92 individuals at the W.I.A.A. State wrestling tournament.

Cadott has had 61 state place winners.

Cadott has produced 10 state champions.

2018-2019 Varsity Schedule (Subject to Change)

Thursday, November 29, 2018-Neillsville/Greenwood/Loyal (A)

Saturday, December 1, 2018-Ellsworth Invitational (A)

Saturday, December 8, 2018-WI Dells Invitational (A)

Friday, December 14, 2018-Tomahawk Invitational (A)

Thursday, December 20, 2018-Spencer/Columbus (H) Rescheduled to 1/22/19

Friday, December 28, 2018-River Falls Invitational (A)

Saturday, January 5, 2019-Cadott Invitational (H)

Thursday, January 10, 2019-Altoona/Regis/Thorp (A)

Tuesday, January 15, 2019-Stanley-Boyd/Owen-Withee (H)

Thursday, January 17, 2019-Osseo-Fairchild/Augusta/Fall Creek (A)

Saturday, January 19, 2019-Arcadia Invitational (A)

Tuesday, January 22, 2019-Spencer/Columbus (H @ Elem) Rescheduled from 12/20

Thursday, January 24, 2019-Abbotsford/Colby (H)

Saturday, February 2, 2019-Spencer Tournament (A)

Saturday, February 9, 2019-Regional (H)

Middle School Tournaments

Saturday, December 15, 2018-Medford Tournament (A)

Friday, January 4, 2019-Cadott Invitational (H) 

Saturday, January 12, 2019-Boyceville Invitational (A)

Friday, January 18, 2019-Arcadia Invitational (A)

Friday, February 1, 2019-Spencer Tournament (A)

Friday, February 8, 2019-Menomonie Invitational (A)